Maybe More

bill

Now that I’ve had a chance to put myself at a remove from the studio for a few weeks and to sort through a few other issues in my thinking, I’m beginning to think that I may have to reconsider my previous avowal that I’m done with painting. That being said, my approach and intent will change.

No more concern with exhibiting and selling, back to the basic concerns of observation and interpretation…and into a simpler manner of apprehending the bits of reality that go into the work. More intuition without sacrificing intellect.

I realise that in the post cancer resumption of my life I’ve been trying to mash together the disparate elements that have been swirling through my consciousness and in the process I’ve been putting undo pressure on myself to make up for lost time rather than using the experience and insight to make for a new way of approaching the act of painting and being. Time to slow down and come to grips with this newer version of who I’m becoming and let it inform my work, rather than the other way around.

As Gabriella said, whether or not I continue to paint I’ll always see the world as a painter. And as Cezanne did in the last decades of his life, I’m going to remove myself from the concerns of the “art world” in order to concentrate on making art, in my own time and on my own terms. Without regard for anything other than the dogged pursuit of getting to the heart of the matter, avoiding convention and cliche without venturing into parody or disdain.

And not giving a flying fuck at the moon about what anybody thinks about any of it.

I’ll also probably do more writing, some political–seeing as we’re in such a state of disrepair as a culture–and some with regard to the nature of creative processes. I think the writing will help me to explore the act of painting on an intellectual plane so that I can dispense with that part of my thinking in the studio and get on with what it is I’m trying to do with the medium itself. Plus having a forum for the odd rant will provide me with an opportunity to have a bit of fun.

So yeah, I guess I’m back in the saddle again, but in a new saddle of my own making.

~ by Rocky Green on December 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
