Einstien Was Wrong, Once by Bill Batten

Einstein once said that he didn’t think God played dice with the universe, the implication being that he couldn’t believe any omnipotent being would behave in a cavalier manner with the existence of the creatures it had conjured. But watching and reading the news lately and reflecting on my own recent personal history I can’t help but think he was wrong. From what I’ve seen, if there is such a being, dice seems to be it’s main form of entertainment. How else to explain the past decade and the unraveling of what seems, in retrospect, the most stable half century in Western political thought and action ? The one positive thing to emerge from the past 7 1/2 years of having Georgie boy holding the reins of power is that it has been made blatantly clear that there’s nobody in charge of anything anymore.

At least nobody seems to be willing or able to stem the flow of carnage, be it on the battlefield or the boardrooms, and that any body’s guess is just as good as anybody else’s when it comes to predicting what’s coming next, with the basic pretext seeming to be that we’re likely to see more chaos in the financial markets and politics of most of the world, coupled with random and terrifying weather systems and the beginnings of the scramble for shrinking natural resources …. yer basic Darwinian struggle for survival, playing itself out and packaged as entertainment in the hopes that we won’t notice that Rome is burning.

If you stop and think about what’s been going on it’ll make your head spin if it doesn’t make you sob first. Which is the last thing anybody seeking political power wants us to do, so on with the circus. Obama or Hillary ? Who cares ? Just keep putting them on the news every hour and nobody’ll notice it won’t matter who gets picked, ’cause things have gone so far south that whoever takes over will be spending most of their time being told that there’s no money left to give health care a shot, and that things in Iraq and Afghanistan and Israel and Palestine are so fucked up that Nato troops will be in the middle East for the rest of our lives if we want to be able to drive internal combustion engines in our cars or make things out of plastic, and that we’d better start learning Mandarin or Cantonese because China is gonna be the boss of all of us in the foreseeable future.

Yeah, yeah, I know I sound bitter, but I’m not.

I just have to get my head around some of this stuff because I still want to paint but my mind keeps getting cluttered with this shit when I have a chance to get out of the daily routines involving kids and work and all the things that make most of my waking hours busy. Because in order to get down to painting it has to be the most important thing in the world, which gets tricky when you’re not independently wealthy and you have to make sure there’s food on the table and all that kinda stuff, and anything that gets in the way of that level of concentration makes it rather difficult to invoke the willing suspension of disbelief required to make creating art possible.

And disbelief is a state I’m in pretty much any time I take a look around these days.

So I try to go about my business and occupy myself in a smaller and more personal orbit, still peeking at what’s going on in the wider world but finding myself less what ? concerned ? no, not the right ideaword, more like less immediate in my being affected by the constancy of the madness of our species as a whole. Not resigned, either, although that would be an easy and seemingly sophisticated response, but simply more aware that the symptoms we’re displaying appear to me to be our epochs’ self imposed implosion following the hubris of our self image as masters of the universe. What’s coming, and what many fear, is basically the world as we know it undergoing a process of change and evolution to accommodate the new realities that are emerging from the expression of the realpolitik of the past few decades. Not to mention the confusion that comes with the intricately woven economic and political systems when former relationships begin to experience trans formative stages as a response to these changes.

But when I’m out here in the country, all of that shit seems so much less important and I think it’s because going about my daily business and being surrounded by the simplicity of my rural setting and it’s Seemingly unchanged nature from year to year and decade to decade I’m reminded that for most people life goes on much the same no matter who’s “running the show” . Sounds cavalier, I know. And on some obvious levels, it is a cavalier attitude to take. But at this point in my life, I’m aware that I’m capable of some things and I know my limits better, so I pick and choose with more discretion what I do in my life, and as a result I’m able to reconcile my astonishment and enmity for the current state of fear and loathing being propagated as news with the philosophical disposition of detachment based on the knowledge that people and events eventually tend toward a state of equilibrium.

So look out, Georgie boy. You, too, Dick.

The fat is in the fire and it belongs to you.

~ by Rocky Green on July 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
